Uganda_720x68_a

Trading License

A trading license is required of any business operating in Uganda. The license is issued by the local authority (town or city council). The issuance of licence is instant.

License fee for opening up an office is Ushs.156,500. License fee for carrying out a retail business is Ushs.206,500. License fee for carrying out a wholesale business is Ushs.366,500. The Trading License is a general business license required for all companies including service enterprises. The issuing authority is the relevant Municipal Authority where the business premises are situated. A trading license can be obtained almost instantly provided the necessary documents on the nature of business to be undertaken and the location are available. The fee is assessed by the Municipality or City Council. Standard forms are completed and are accompanied by Memorandum & Articles of Association as well as the Certificate of Incorporation. For the case of Kampala City Council, the exercise is decentralised to each of the 5 Divisions of Kawempe, Nakawa, Makindye, Rubaga, and Kampala Central Divisions.   

The Public Relations Officer
Kampala City Council
City Hall, Room A112
Tel: +256-41-231443
Fax: +256-41-231916
Tel. +256-772-695296
Email: public.relations@kcc.go.ugThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Nakawa Division       
Tel: +256-41-4222936
Email: nakawa@kcc.co.ugThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Central Division   
Tel: 256-41-4230857
Email : central@kcc.co.ugThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Kawempe Division   
Tel: 256-41-4566907
Email: kawempe@kcc.co.ugThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Makindye Division   
Tel: 256-41-4267840
Email: makindye@kcc.go.ugThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Rubaga Division   
Tel: 256-41-4271711
Email: rubaga@kcc.go.ug